Oct 02, 2014

Paid Sick-time Law Signed by Governor Jerry Brown in California

This past month, a bill that requires employers in California to provide at least three days of paid sick leave a year to their public or private industry workers, was signed into law by Gov. Jerry Brown. Union workers and the public are ecstatic about this decision, making the choice of employees choosing between their family and their job a little easier.

Many workers feel this will create a better standardized system for those who actually need to stay home sick. This legislation will help an estimated 6.5 million workers in California who cannot take a paid sick day when they need to for themselves or their family. This will benefit the 40 percent of California’s workforce who does not have access to sick leave. California has become the second state in the nation to adopt a paid sick leave law, after Connecticut.

Under the measure AB1522, employers are required to provide sick pay for an employee who works 30 or more days in a single calendar year. The bill ensures one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours worked.

Although labor leaders still want to see more improvement with this law, it is a huge step in the right direction. The bill is scheduled to go into effect in July 2015.


Where trade unions are most firmly organized, there are the rights of the people most respected. - Samuel Gompers
NAGE HEADQUARTERS 159 Burgin Parkway
Quincy, MA 02169
Main Phone: (617)376-0220
Main Fax: (617)984-5695
Union Local Tax Issues Federal law now requires that every local union file an annual information return—Form 990, 990-EZ, or 990-N—with the IRS. If your local fails to file under this new requirement.. Read more